top of page
  • Writer's pictureBryce

Who is Your Favorite Author?

Hello everyone. Today I share with you my love of fantasy and literature. Specifically I want to highlight my two favorite authors, both living and dead.


As noted in my previous post I spent a lot of time as a kid in the library, at school, or at home reading. I loved reading and eventually read my way through the works of JRR Tolkien who became my favorite dead author. I loved following the adventures of the Fellowship of the Ring, growing right alongside the characters. It also helped that the Lord of the Rings movies came out around the same time and I loved every minute of every book and movie.


Opening mail the proper way: with Sting


My favorite living author has become Brandon Sanderson. I came upon his books in my teenage years, and quickly fell in love with his characters and magic systems during several formative years of my life. These characters were deep and personal, characters that I could admire and wished to emulate.


As I’ve learned more about Brandon Sanderson and JRR Tolkien themselves I’ve grown to love them even more. Whether it was Tolkien’s jovial nature, his love for his wife (his Luthian, for those of you in the know), or Brandon’s reckless abandon to churning out books and materials with the team at Dragonsteel Publishing that he brought together.


Reading and writing have always been a huge passion of mine, leading me to tell my high school counselor that I had thought about being an author or editor, when asked about thoughts for future careers. Reading and writing are how I most enjoy connecting with other people, and continue to enjoy sharing the works of these authors and participating in fandoms with other fellow nerds at cons or on online forums.


A Tensoon plushie from Sanderson's "Secret Project" Kickstarter


Questions of the day: Who is your favorite author? What are some of your favorite books?


Bonus points: help me come up with names for future kids that work with the initials JRR and/or just using Tolkien somewhere in them, that Esther would let us use one day for our future kids.


Recent Posts

See All

Why Psychology

Hello everyone. Today I will be writing about my career path and goals that have led me to want to pursue a career in Psychology and one...

Comments


bottom of page