top of page
  • Writer's pictureBryce

Why Psychology

Hello everyone. Today I will be writing about my career path and goals that have led me to want to pursue a career in Psychology and one day in School Psychology.


When I was a kid, just like every other little boy at an early age I wanted to be a police officer. Over time I realized that I do not like being involved in confrontations, putting my life on the line, or trying to do criminal justice work. Over the next few years I went through many phases as a kid, telling myself that I wanted to be an archaeologist like Indians Jones, a forest ranger, an author, and other passing fantasies.


What finally brought me to love psychology was as a teenager when I started coming out of my shell and getting to know other people more. I made friends with a small group of people who changed my life forever. I was a pretty friendly kid to begin with, but never felt like I fit in. This was highlighted by my years in junior high and high school where I would wander between every group and clique in school, starting lunch with one group of friends, joining others for various sports, games, or other activities, and finally landing with another one. For several years as a teenager I would go to school, church, and the library, but never go to a friend's house or visit with anyone else close to me. I became incredibly withdrawn and lonely as I felt everyone changed from our early childhood selves to young adulthood, and I felt left behind (or rather, I left myself behind).


Finally, as I started talking with some new friends and mentors, I started to find more places where I felt that I belonged. As I got to know my friends and they got to share more of themselves with me, I learned more about myself. Many of my friends I learned had struggles of their own, be it with mental health or some other personal struggle. I wanted to help everyone more and more, and as I engaged more with my friends all around me I found that I wanted to do more and learn more about other people. That led me to want to take psychology in high school and want to pursue a career as a counselor, even becoming a doctor and therapist.


When I came home from my mission, I quickly decided that I was leery of jumping right into pursuing a PhD and then stumbled upon school psychology. I could pursue a master’s degree and work with kids in schools, which was where my first experiences of personal struggle and other people’s struggles had started as well. I absolutely adored being in school and building relationships there, so adjusted my sails to aim for that new course.


A few years later now, I have become a Social Service Worker and haven’t gone straight to grad school. I’ve applied twice and not made it in, but with each setback I’ve learned something new. Over the last four years at my current job I am able to work with adults seeking to advance their education and careers in our Education Unit at Wasatch House. I also learned of a new program that I have set my sights on now, which is a PhD in School Psychology, and have felt my soul leap at this opportunity before me once more. This career path aligns with both my childhood dreams and my current path of mentoring and learning.


I am thankful for the years I have worked with dozens of mentors, teachers, and close friends who’ve helped guide me as I’ve searched for a career and job which is meaningful and important to me. I continue to talk with people I admire, both professionals and friends, to network and collaborate on building my personal career path towards something I can feel proud of and do good as a working adult. I’ve had to adjust my sails according to the various winds that have blown over the years and am thankful for the Lord who has led me to where I am today.


My question(s) for today is what did you want to be when you grew up? How did your life experience change that dream and lead you to where you are today?


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page